About the UN ECE region

“The ECE region is diverse – diverse but united.
United in the common commitment to advancing women and promoting gender equality as reflected in the Beijing Platform for Action adopted in 1995. Diverse in the variety of historical, political and economic contexts in which this Platform is being implemented”

Ján Kubiš, Executive Secretary of UNECE
UN ECE Beijing+15 regional Review in November 2009

UNECE region
The UN Economic Commission for Europe (UN ECE) was set up in 1947 as one of the 5 regional commissions of the United Nations. The UN ECE covers a large and diverse region comprising 56 Member States.

The UNECE Region countries and its sub-regions

  • CA – Central Asia: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan
  • EEC – Eastern Europe and Caucasus: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Ukraine
  • EU13  – New EU Member States: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Rep.,Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia
  • EU15 – Old EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom
  • SEE – South Eastern Europe: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Turkey
  • Non-EU – Non EU Countries with advanced economies: Andorra, Canada, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland, United Sates

ICPD Beyond 2014-UNECEOther information on the UNECE Region