Civil Society Actors, Woman’s Rights Advocates,
Grass-roots Women’s Groups and Networks,
UN Agencies, Academic Institutions, Media, Private Sector Actors & other stakeholders
from the 56 countries of the UN ECE* region


Be an active participant in a dynamic global process and contribute to discussions on achievements, gaps and challenges in the implementation of the 12 critical areas of concern of the 1995 Beijing Platform for Action (BPfA). Tackle together other burning emerging & cross-cutting issues such as the impact on women of globalization, rising inequalities, ageing, ICTs, Science and technology for women, climate change, increasing migration, trafficking and violence against women, among others.


Accelerate change by networking and developing new partnerships with other women’s rights groups.
Broaden your knowledge about how to better influence international policy affecting women
and advance the development of your own strategic objectives.


 Make recommendations and provide critical input to the NGO outcome document that will be presented to the governmental UNECE regional review meeting,
as well as to the Post-2015 Development Agenda.

women’s rights

Look to the future. Women’s rights are Human Rights and Geneva is the global center of Human Rights. Participate in shaping the future global agenda promoting women’s rights.

The Geneva NGO Forum will take place
on 3-5 November 2014 in the Palais des Nations – Geneva,
prior to the UN ECE regional review meeting of 6-7 November 2014.

General Information on the Geneva NGO Forum is available here, or as a downloadable concept note.

About the UN Economic Commission for Europe (UN ECE)

The Geneva NGO Forum is primarily concerned with the Beijing+20 UN ECE Regional Review.

The UN Economic Commission for Europe (UN ECE) is one of the 5 regional Commission of the United Nations. Headquartered in Geneva the UN ECE the UN ECE 56 member States include the countries of Europe, but also countries in North America, Central Asia and Western Asia:

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav
 Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uzbekistan.

More information on the UN ECE is available here.